Charging Station Reprise (with BUMP controller)

Finished1

A couple years back I built an over-engineered charging station with battery storage that was worked, but in practice was too heavy and cumbersome.

Last year I went in a different direction. I wanted light, simple and twice the charging capacity.

I started with 2 x Dual PL8’s,  4 x MPA boards and a Meanwell 2kW 48V PS.

plywoodPrototype2

The Meanwell charger is quiet with a variable speed fan and has power factor correction to help minimize the load on my generator at the airfield.

I had pre-ordered a BUMP controller in October that arrived January 30th, so I started without it and just used a cardboard placeholder.

plywoodPrototype9

The MPA boards Velcro to the sideboards that connect both horizontally and vertically.

plywoodPrototype27

This year I decided to go for a stained finish. I used a gray stain and urethane top coat.

plywoodPrototype30

donebuild3

BumpInUse

0 Responses to “Charging Station Reprise (with BUMP controller)”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

